Consequences of Crying by Abigail Kade - Release Day Guest Post

Grim and Sinister Delight

I played a game and didn’t know the rules. Now, no one believes a vampire wants my soul. I’m going to have to pay the consequences, but I won’t be alone.

Lying pays my bills. If the masses are naive enough to believe my lies, what’s the harm? They’re all sheep to me anyway, ripe for the fleecing. All except him.

Running from disgrace, I found my new neighbor was intense, captivating, and first. I foolishly played with his fire, and now I’m burning. As he uses my body and destroys my barriers, it’s impossible to remember who I am, or what I want. His seduction of pain and passion are almost too much to resist. But there’s another there who helps me hold on. Can I risk trusting anything or anyone in this maelstrom of pleasure, pain and memory?

In the end, trust is betrayed, and I’m the fool who’s destined to pay for crying wolf, to have my blood and soul devoured by my captor. I’m starting to believe my tormentor may be right when he says I’ll find my truth, my future, by giving in to his demands. But can the other offer me salvation?

Between these two impossible beings, they may both be my death and my eternity.

Consequences of Crying is a dark and modern m/m retelling of The Boy Who Cried Wolf. There are intense situations involving obsession and dark desires. Relationships may be deemed unhealthy and include possible triggering content.

Grim and Sinister Delights is a dark romance series based on classic fairy tales and stories. You will find standalone tales of gay romance that range in darkness and kinks. If you dare to take the challenge, read them all to find yourself lost in a classic that you think you know. These stories are for adult readers and may contain morally ambiguous themes.

guest post

When I was given the opportunity to participate in the Grim and Sinister Delights series, I had to narrow down my choices of all the possible Fairy Tales, stories and fables I had read and loved growing up. For some reason, the fable of the Boy Who Cried Wolf always stuck with me. He was a mischievous child who played tricks on the villagers because he was bored, but he took it too far and paid the price in the end. The reality of the consequences of our actions was a very real lesson this story taught me, and I’ve always been conscious of the consequences of my decisions. Have I always made the right choices? Hell, no! But I always knew what could happen no matter the choices I made.

When I was faced with the possibility to reimagine the Boy Who Cried Wolf for this story, I let my imaginations run wild. I the boy grew to a man, what would he be? How would he deal with the world around him? I imagined he would still be a brat, a narcissist, a con man. From there, I let the story spiral out into a fantastical and dark tale examining the choices we make, the limits we can reach without giving I, and the consequences we must face when our decisions lead us into chaos.

This story is a dark, unpredictable, messed up version of the original version and I hope you enjoy the warped journey.

Grim and Sinister Delights

Naked Ambition by Lisa Henry, With a Twist by Kate Sherwood, Bound by Sean Azinsalt, True Mate’s Kiss by Rorie Kage, The Elves and the Bondage Daddy by JP Sayle, Pied Piper by Emma Jaye, The Devil Told Me by Alexis Jane, Crimson Painted Snow by Brea Alepoú, Shards of Ice by R Phoenix, Beauty Bound by Megs Pritchard, False Feathers by Adara Wolf, The Rejiorling by Leona Windwalker, Consequences of Crying by Abigail Kade, A Merman’s Tale by MD Gregory & The Black Sea by Dora Esquivel

the author

Abigail Kade is an MM romance author who lives on the Gulf Coast of Alabama with her husband and two teens. She’s been a genre magpie from the very beginning, flitting from one shiny idea to another including sweet contemporary, gritty shifters, magical paranormal and the darkest romance. The one thing all of her work has in common is the idea that there is someone for everyone, no matter how broken, hurt, impaired or warped they may be. In the end, her motto will forever be Love Will Always Find a Way.

you should check out the readers group for this great collaboration. Along with some other things they have going on, they have this awesome couple of bingo cards, which has prompts for every book in the series.

Criminal Delights Readers Group